How to Be a Blogging Star

The New York Times article, So You Want to Be a Blogging Star, caught my eye a couple of weeks ago and I’m just now getting around to writing about it. Most of it seems intuitive to me, but might be news for those considering starting a blog. And there are couple of my fav blogs that I would make some of these recommendations to, given a chance.

“Don’t go into blogging to make a living,” Mr. Cuban warned in an e-mail message. Still, he and other top bloggers with day jobs agree most people could attract a following on the Web. And whether a person blogs to make a little money, to influence opinion or just for sheer ego gratification, amassing a large audience is the goal.

Here’s what a number of successful bloggers with successful nonblogging careers say are the ways to think about getting into the business of blogging.”Dexter

The most commonly violated recommendation is to keep a regular rhythm. I recommend posting a minimum of 3 times a week. If you hope to develop a blog posse, you have to keep feeding the beastie.

And my blog is as much for me as it is for my readers. I keep notes, archive interesting things, and track activities that I might want to remember years from now. That gives me extra incentive to blog regularly. And I’ve found that there are times when I was able to go back in time to use information that I had misplaced. Now that’s made it all worthwhile to me.

I’m listening to Manha de Carnaval by Dexter Gordon on his Gettin’ Around CD.

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Blog, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to How to Be a Blogging Star

  1. Beth says:

    A member of your blogging possee is just stopping by wish you a good week.

  2. Barb says:

    Not that I aspire to or will ever be a star, I wish they had an article on
    "How to Rid Ones Self from a Rude Stalker"  I have this charming guy
    that continues to attack leaving comments longer than the post. It
    seems I write nothing he agrees with and continues with every post
    to leave disparaging remarks at times having nothing to do with the
    post..sigh So far I have simply deleted them but the whole issue is
    becoming tiresome…
    BE Well
    Barb
     

  3. Elizabeth says:

    I want to aspire to being a blog groupie.

  4. _ says:

    I only post once a week. So I’ll never be a blog star. But I always post on Mondays. That’s my rhythm. Maybe this summer I’ll blog more often. Hmm… What’s she up to this summer? You’ll see.
    BTW, I’m on a Keb’ Mo’ kick right now. We saw him last summer at Wolf Trap with Bonnie Raitt.

  5. daphne says:

    I am so happy you are going to see Addie soon! She looks so beautiful and cuddly! Enjoy it – i know she is going to adore the giraffe.
    love, daphne

  6. Rambling says:

    I am your blog groupie..er… I mean posse member.  I smiled at Elizabeth’s comment.  :-)

  7. Siobhan says:

    I used to blog on Spaces not too long ago.  I got sick of the incessant changes and the fact that with every change we were able to do less and less.  I had been there 2.5 years too…Thanks for stopping by and for your comment on my post.  I hope to aspire to be like my Gran was when it came to sorting ill-mannered companies out.  She may be gone, but definitely not forgotten.

  8. Pamala says:

    Keep nagging me.. I will get it.. umm.. Really I will.. or ..maybe not..smile.

  9. JaAG says:

    RP, I’d never nag you…  much.  ;o)

Leave a Reply

