Our new Granddaughter

Addie_Web

In my son’s own words:

On Tuesday evening, the 25th of March, Wendy and I received a call from our adoption agency, stating that they had a mother who was carrying a little boy who was due the previous Sunday but had not been born yet. We were asked if we would be willing to travel to Mississippi and brave two weeks’ worth of paperwork and waiting to adopt the baby. Now, this was two whole months earlier than we originally planned to adopt and never expected to leave the state at all but we analyzed the situation and finally said, “yes!”Come Thursday, and to our amazement and pleasure, the mother decided to travel here to Utah to have the baby, saving us tons of hassle and wait time in Mississippi so on Saturday, March 29th 2008 at 3:33am the child was born, and it was not a boy. Addelynn Marie Glass was born, 7 lbs and 13 oz; she was 20.5 inches and wide eyed with a full head of hair. After a first few hours on oxygen, Addie was brought to our private waiting room and spent the better part of the rest of the day with us.On Sunday, the 30th (the required 24 hour waiting period) the birth mother will sign the baby over to us and we should be all same at home by 2:00 PM.Addie is a beautiful child who enjoys sleeping, swaddling and the occasional drooling. Fortunately we had our baby room prepared a few months earlier than we originally felt necessary. Wendy will finish off the remainder of the school year with a substitute in her classroom, aided by the not so recent addition of a student teacher who has worked with Wendy over the past month and with whom the Kindergartners are already familiar and comfortable with. Meanwhile I will continue work and college and spent my time wishing I was home with my two girls. Wendy and I are so very grateful with the recent chain of events and thank our Father in Heaven daily for such a wonderful blessing to fall upon our doorstep.With love,Aaron, Wendy & Addie

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in My World. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Our new Granddaughter

  1. Beth says:

    Congratulations!!  Addie is beautiful and she is truly blessed!

  2. Rambling says:

    Jim, congratulations to you, your wife and your dear son and his wife and Addie.  What a glorious day for all of you and a new beginning for Aaron and Wendy.  The best is yet to be.The expression on Aaron’s face is full of wonder and love.  It makes my own heart full.

  3. Lizzie-Beth4Him says:

    Addie is a little beauty, and I am glad it was made clear she is a girl, even if it was already obvious anyway…lol… without the barrette.  Congratulations to you all! 

  4. coco says:

    Congratulations! The baby is adorable. kisses the baby!

  5. Scottishpeace says:

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!!

  6. daphne says:

    Congratulations! She is beautiful and lovely. I am glad she is doing fine.
    love, daphne

  7. JaAG says:

    Thank you all. The kids are so excited, having waited so long for a child. I listened to Addie cry last night. At one day old it sounded more like a squeak to me.  :o)

  8. Deb says:

    Yipee.  She is beautiful.  And I get to buy baby stuff:-)  I can’t wait to hold her in my arms.

  9. Allie says:

    Congratulations!!!  I’m so happy for you guys.Allie

  10. Josie says:

    Yeah! I am an Aunt now.  Nick and Amber are excited about seeing their cousin this weekend.  Congratulations on the new little girl in your life.

  11. kitten says:

    Oh my congratulations, Addelynn Marie what a beautiful name for a most beautiful baby girl, Baby Kisses, Catherine

  12. L says:

    Oh I love reading happy blog posts such as this. Congratulations to all, what a sweetie and I can’t believe all that hair!! By the way your son looks like you. Handsome dude 😉

  13. Bertie says:

    You want a comment, but there is nothing new on the blog.  I loved the pictures you sent today.  I sent yesterday’s to Ellis and Alison, and Erin.  They are very happy for Aaron and Wendy too.  Addie is beautiful.  I love my third great grandchild (great granddaughter) already and can’t wait to hold her.

  14. Kari says:

    She is so adorable!! How exciting! Congrats to you all!
    -Kari

  15. Elizabeth says:

    What a blessing Addie is!  Congrats to all! *hugs*

  16. Elizabeth says:

    What a blessing Addie is!  Congrats to all! *hugs*

  17. Barb says:

    Oh my goodness, what a precious little bundle of joy!
    I am so delighted for you all and a special welcme Addelynn Marie

  18. Wendy says:

    Thanks to everyone for saying such sweet things! She is a darling little girl who likes to sleep and eat! We only get up twice in the night to feed her, but she is sure to let us know when she is hungry. We love her to pieces and she might end up being just a little bit spoiled with Daddy doting on her. He always calls from work to ask how Addie is doing. She has some cute dimples in her cheeks that we are still trying to get a good picture of. We will need to get a faster camera to catch it though!

Leave a Reply

