Kiss and Other Musings

kiss_lips I have always embraced the KISS methodology of accomplishing things–when possible. KISS, for the uninitiated, stands for a ruder version of Keep It Sweet and Simple. Many times the simplest way to do something is the right way. And many of us seem to go out of our way to make things unnecessarily complex. The result of this is that stuff that needs to be done may not get done or you may pay exorbitant costs to have someone else do what you could have done for yourself.

My daughter can not afford to pay for music lessons for my grandson. Easy solution? Have grandpa, that would be me, provide the lessons. My son can’t afford an instrument he needs for a band he’s starting up. So he repurposes an instrument that I’m not using to accomplish that. A good family situation can keep things simple and provide other benefits too.

So another thing I was thinking about yesterday as I filled my tank with gas. I glanced at the dials and it said something like 3.something gallons for $12. I did a double take because I still remember when it was 12 gallons for $3. Oh my gawd, I’ve become an old fogey like my grandparents and parents who used to muse about the price of things.

So using the KISS principle, I have moved closer to work (seven plus years ago), travel on a moped and bicycle during the better weather seasons, and try to combine many trips into one trip if possible. I call first more, make sure that the music store has the reeds, or order online for a saving after shipping costs of about 20%. And sometimes I walk to the nearby park to people watch rather than jumping in my car and going somewhere.

Have a great weekend. I know we are planning to.  :o)

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Music, Tips and Tricks. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kiss and Other Musings

  1. Rambling says:

    I will too…right along with you all.I like the idea of re-purposing in your family as ours do the same.  It is prudent, and many times helps accomplish something that would go languishing otherwise because of a lack of thought or a sense of stubbornness regarding another use from what seems to be a single purpose item. We all of us here try to do things logically if we can and we too like to K.I.S.S.  :-)

  2. Beth says:

    An excellent post!!

  3. Barb says:

    I like your KISS version…
    Would you like to adopt another daughter and do you care how old she is?
    Okay maybe not :)
    You are so correct sometimes sweet and simple is all that is needed to promote
    happiness..
    Barb

  4. JaAG says:

    Barb, Suzy and I get asked to adopt people all the time; we just think they are being nice.  ;o)
     
    Elizabeth, and now with pictures. 

Leave a Reply

