So You Want to Write a Blog – Part I

I have been meaning to capture my thoughts on writing a successful blog and then I saw this quote which is rather elegantly put if’n you ask me.

A very sage author once told me, “Write the book that you wish already existed.” I think blogs are similar. If there’s information that you find useful/interesting, chances are that somebody else will find it interesting. The way you get better at writing technical posts is by doing it. – Eric Gunnerson

So exchanging the word for blog for book you have “Write the blog that you wished already existed.” Ah, if only it was that simple. Who said something like, “I don’t know how to do it, but I recognize it when I see it.” Here is some of the simple guidance I give aspiring bloggers.

1. You will succeed if you love to write and converse.

2. If you don’t plan to post 2 to 3 times a week, you probably won’t stay at it.

3. Keep it simple.

4. Talk about what you know.

5. You will learn from the experience and sometimes you can parlay the gained insight and experience into a new job.

SmartCarAnother benefit I’ve taken advantage of is to use the blog as an archive. For example, if I see something really cool, like say Mercedes ‘Smart Car‘ but I don’t have time to check it out now I write a post in my blog. I leave pointers to the pertinent Web site so that I can find my way back.

Sometimes I get feedback from readers that makes me rethink my initial impressions. And using the Live Spaces ‘search my blog’ gadget means I don’t have to scroll through three years of posts to find the archived topic.

Well that’s it for now. Someone will ping me and tell me what I should address next.  ;o)

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Blog, Tips and Tricks, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to So You Want to Write a Blog – Part I

  1. Rambling says:

    I certainly agree with all you have said here.  Particularly the posting times.  I seem to be all about every day or every other day but then, I am a chatty touchie -feelie  woman and  for good measure, an exaggerated diva type sometimes.  I am also between 13 years of age and 100.  Usually averaging (huh? Carole, you do know how aggregate averages are I presume?  13 and a hundred you said???) about 21 years of age.  When I am less than 13 years old..maybe 9 occasionally,  I will ask you to admire my new dress..top, hairdo and so on.  :-)  and don’t forget to comment on my delicate perfume. 

  2. Beth says:

    I love creative writing.  I try to make my blog funny and interesting.  Really though, I am doing this for myself.

  3. Lizzie-Beth4Him says:

    Number three on your list gives me the hardest time, but I am learning, and don’t profess to be a writer anyway.
     
    When I attach links, it is usually to give information to others, after having already experienced, read, or researched something that was of benefit to me, as well as being sure to give credit to a resource, but I like your idea of using it to archive for my own referencing, especially if I don’t have time to do more research when I first come across it. 
     
    I hope you do mention about being sure to give credit to others, as your advice in the past was helpful to me personally, along with the ramifications, because I don’t think people always realize them.  
     
     
     
    Thank you for the heads up on on the searching your own blog gadget.

  4. JaAG says:

    Lizzie (I luv that name BTW) giving credit is covered in an advanced course.
     
    Agreed Beth, too intense tends to turn me off. I don’t think being around people who are always stressed out is a healthy thang.
     
    Carole, perfume? Don’t believe in that stuff. Most people smell fine without it if’n you ask me.

  5. Elizabeth says:

    "4. Talk about what you know."What if you don’t know much about anything?  😉

  6. Barb says:

    Hmm interesting :)
    Well perhaps I am failing in someone else’s view however
    I am deriving pleasure from it :)
    I personally enjoy reading a variety of blogs not all in the
    same genre.. What I do like however is when someone
    lays out their post in a clean format with good size print
    and white space. I find it easier to read more inviting
    You do that and I like it :)
    Barb
     

  7. JaAG says:

    Elizabeth, everyone know about something and no one knows about everything. :o)
     
    Barb, diversity is the spice of life, isn’t it. I review every request for addition to my friends list to determine; if I know them (family or friend), if they have a site that I will want to read, and if they as good bloggers/writers will add diversity to my blog posse.  :o)

  8. Kathryn says:

    Like my bat boy play diary! It gets a little long, though, is the only problem with keeping the diary right on the blog, but I’ll have a record of it for-ebber and ebber!

  9. brettskib says:

     I really like your space some thoughfull thinking and good pics I write vpoetry and a few novels have been published a few times though only my short stories found your space by way Of Barb whom I like very much any way invited you to be a friend if you have the time but wiill definely watch this space in the future as I like what I see
     whising you Love , Light and laughter brettskib

Leave a Reply

