Dad back in the pulpit, Mom in the choir

Actually this is a space holder for the ten minute sermon that Dad conducted yesterday. I had my video at the lowest resolution and still it took over 5 hours to upload to YouTube. And mom’s singing, a shorter video took about three hours. I’m using Comcast high-speed Internet services, a state of the art computer, but running a hard drive backup to the Internet program to boot.

Here is Mom singing in the choir:

Dad’s first service after a 40-year hiatus will be posted as soon as it shows up on my YouTube profile.

Cheers.

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Community, My World, Religon. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Dad back in the pulpit, Mom in the choir

  1. Rambling says:

    I will tell you sincerely that  this was a joy to see and hear.  I am so looking forward to seeing your Dad when he delivers his sermon.If it is agreeable, please tell us how he came back to the pulpit after a lengthy absence.

  2. JaAG says:

    I’m agonizing over the telling of that story. Because I don’t want the church, Dad’s friends and family, and any disinterested parties to attack Dad’s decision. But the bottom line was that he had five kids to feed, cloth and educate and it was obvious that he couldn’t do that as a minister. Sad in a way as he is a stellar speaker with superb people skills.

  3. Ed says:

    One of my good friends just left the ministry.  The demands on a ministers time are never ending.  In his case he has two daughters and a young son and he wanted to give them some space from being a Preachers kid.   From what I can tell your parents did a good job with their kids and that’s good enough for me.

  4. Barb says:

    Wow I had no idea it could take that length of time to upload!
    However thanks for the video of the choir and Mom and I look
    forward to hearing your Dad’s sermon.
    My Grandfather was a minister :) Although I can quite understand
    how difficult it might be to raise a family on a low income, I think it
    is wonderful your Dad was able to return to something close to his
    heart.. That is awesome!!
    Barb
     

  5. Beth says:

    Absolutely beautiful!!!  I will be looking forward to the video with your dad in it.

  6. Kathryn says:

    That’s the first time I’ve been in church in years — *grinning sheepishly* – but I sure did enjoy that…

  7. coco says:

    That is awesome!! I like this clip. thank you

  8. Lizzie-Beth4Him says:

    Really enjoyed the video, Jim.  Brings back blessed memories of being in our church choir, too.  Looking forward to seeing the video of your dad.  Whatever the situation…I admire your dad for making sure he was taking care of his family.  Pastors can be treated like second class citizens by congregations that don’t realize the sacrifices made by most of them, and their families.

  9. Lizzie-Beth4Him says:

    P.S.
     
    Hope your allergies don’t become more widespread.

Leave a Reply

