Eppelsheim Bass Sax Happiness

JaAG_BassSax The more I play this new instrument, an Eppelsheim Bass Sax, the happier I get with it. It has a weird cable running to the neck right below the mouthpiece. This is connected to a right thumb button. When pressed and fingering an F#, G, G#, A, A#, or B with the left-hand octave key, these notes jump an octave. I’m playing altissimo without the voicing challenges of of all of my other saxes!

Saturday I played it with a pickup group of players with quartet music and it was a nice addition even though I was playing a tenor part. I can’t wait to try this instrument playing bass parts. The jazz ensemble leader suggested we try the instrument on a song that features bari saxes called Honk.

The case for this instrument is huge too but comes, mercifully with wheels. Although the sax only weighs in at 23 pounds, (how’d you do that Benedikt?) it does take some getting used to. You can’t sit behind it because the upper tubing blocks your view of the music. So I’ve been putting it to my left and then right trying to find the sweet spot for both reading and maneuvering. It certainly is a labor of love and will give me years of fun. Oh, did I mention it is built like a brick house? It has bracing all up and down for the bell and such. Cheers.

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Eppelsheim, Music Instruments, Saxophone. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Eppelsheim Bass Sax Happiness

  1. Rambling says:

    I actually would have thought it weighed more…from the look of it. 

  2. JaAG says:

    Most people do. It is a beast to see around though when you are playing it.

  3. Elizabeth says:

    I think that sax is bigger than my oldest child!!! LOL

  4. daphne says:

    The first thing i thought when i saw this was: what a beast! And you said it here in your own comments! I love it, it looks really cool and tough to play – it must be a wonderful challenge for you. Can you tell us how it sounds? or better, let us hear?
    love, daphne

  5. Unknown says:

    THe sax looks cool. I played a Bass Sax in High School (Clovis NM). I played at AllState and the Director did not even realize it was a Bass Sax…
    I won the Loius Armstrong Jazz Band Award playing the Bari Sax.
    I am currently playing a old Blessing Tenor I have dated it back to the 20’s.
    You can hear some of my music at http://www.myspace.com/thejazzman1962
    I really would like to get a saprano but the budget is real tight .
    Enjoy .

  6. Pingback: Subcontrabass Saxophone | The Bis Key Chronicles

  7. Pingback: My Conn Mezzo Soprano Sax in F | The Bis Key Chronicles

Leave a Reply

