Emoticons, En Dashes, and Enchiladas

I stumbled upon this from the ‘more stuff, less fluff‘ blog in their ‘Emoticons, En Dashes, and Enchiladas‘ post. It tickled me so I thought I’d share it with my favorite people, my blog posse, my readers. It is a good thing for all of us to remember. 🙂

Q. The menu in our cafeteria shows that enchiladas are available “Tues.–Fri.” However, when I ordered one on a Wednesday, I was informed that enchiladas are available on Tuesday AND Friday, not Tuesday THROUGH Friday. When I informed the cafeteria manager that this was incorrect, she seemed shocked and refused to change the sign. Please help determine who is correct!

A. Although the sign was incorrect, I’m not sure you should annoy the person who provides the enchiladas.

The quote is from the staff at the Chicago Manual of Style which is a reference I use on a regular basis.

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

