Grenadilla Wood, Environmental Effects, and Organic Bore Oil

The best read on this subject that I have read to date:

by Larry R. Naylor

clarinetSilverKeys“I have received copies of Web discussions, involving whether grenadilla instruments can become blown-out, from customers and repair technicians from around the country. Since I have been restoring instruments in this condition for many years, I assumed that most musicians were familiar with this problem. Apparently, this is not the case. Identifying slowly accumulating problems with one’s instrument can be problematic because most experienced musicians can readily accommodate to, or compensate for, these changes—up to a point.

Some musicians are not as sensitive to idiosyncrasies in their instruments; they tend to “drive” an instrument rather than play it. I suspect that some musicians may have only experienced instruments in a relatively compromised condition, thus they do not perceive performance problems on their current instrument; they are unaware how good an instrument can be. For example, a comment I frequently hear from first time clients is, “I didn’t know my clarinet (oboe, English horn) could play like this!”

Read more…

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Clarinet, Music and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Grenadilla Wood, Environmental Effects, and Organic Bore Oil

  1. daphne says:

    Did you get to see the Last Night of the Proms? There was such a beautiful piece with a solo for a(n) oboe – it really brought tears to my eyes.
    Love, daphne

  2. JaAG says:

    I rarely listen to classical music. And the oboe is one hard instrument to master let alone enjoy. Although I’ve heard a number of classical soprano saxes which can mimic the sound of an oboe. :o)

  3. M says:

    I think rosewood exceeds grenadilla in sound, but is hard to manipulate…
    by the way mozart’s oboe quartet is beautiful

Leave a Reply

