Soprillo Man at the Ballard Locks

The Dissonance played at Ballard locks yesterday to a rather large audience. I was expecting a smaller crowd because the Bumbershoot Music Festival, the Ballard Jazz Festival, and some food show was going on. But as Suzy and I arrived there were lines of cars streaming into the site.

I did get a chance to solo on my soprillo sax which 9 out of 9 people in the audience had ever heard. Same odds for anyone knowing what the instrument was.  :o)

Pictures by Christy Anderson, thanks Christy!

The soprillo sax was the only instrument in Adophe Sax’s copywrite for saxes that had never been manufactured until Benedikt Eppelsheim started making them. I got to do a Bb riff on the instrument which turned out to be a little tougher than I’d imagined because I didn’t get to warm up on the instrument because I wanted to surprise the audience.

We played instrumental tunes like Freddie Freeloader, Blue Bossa, Night Train. We played a number of vocal charts like ‘The Lady is a Tramp’, Do Nothing till You Hear from Me, and ‘Love is Here to Stay, which Ellie, all dolled out for the gig, handled rather nicely.

I have to say, I’m not really a hat man. Coming from a guy who was in the military for 20 years, that might be understandable. So this vintage hat that I found in Minneapolis, thanks Debby, was just the ticket. It is a straw fedora that is easy to throw in the car and is pretty sturdy as hats go.

Our next gig will be at Crossroads of Bellevue on the 21st of September at noon. The group will morph into a big band composed of Microsoft employees as part of the King County Day of caring. Then I will be preparing to do a pit orchestra gig for the Second Story Rep‘s production of Chorus Line in November.

Oh, our lead trumpet blogged about the gig and has a lot more pictures at Spit Valve Central.

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Jazz, soprillo. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

