Can Gandalfe make the Soprillo Sax Sexy?

Benedikt Eppelsheim is sending my new soprillo to the engraver and I should Have it by the end of February or March. But perhaps the more interesting question is why would anyone, let alone a rookie sax player like me, want to play the soprillo sax, aka piccolo or sopranissimo sax?

My best answer is to point you to Nigel Wood’s Soprillo World. Professor Wood is a very talented player from what I can hear and a teacher as proven by his web site. The clips on his site capture the imagination.

  One of the sample clips that I really like is one by Mandy Grezeszak and the song is called Mandy’s Crazy Rag. Ah, to play like that! It will be a labor of love for Suzy and me. She has a number of CDs out which you can see at her web site. The curved sopranino shown here is one by Orsi of Italy.

The soprillo sax was recently re-invented by Benedikt Eppelsheim. I’ve heard that Adolphe Sax had a design for a soprillo on paper, but no instrument has ever been found. Benedikt, smart man that he is, was able to take the instrument to the next level. It is about 13 inches short and the octave mechanism is actually in the mouthpiece. It probably will be very hard for me to learn how to play this instrument. Suzy and I are on our way to Jay Easton’s house to try one today. He wants to try my Buescher sax. Life is sweet.

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Saxophone, soprillo. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Can Gandalfe make the Soprillo Sax Sexy?

  1. Tina says:

    Hi Gandalfe!
     
    Thanks for stopping by my space and leaving a comment!  Great space you have; it’s great to someone so passionate about certain things as you are with music.  Will stop by again!
     
    ~Tina

  2. Michael says:

    Hi Gandalfe!I’ve just bought myself a copy of Nigel Wood’s Soprillogy, which is the world’s first Soprillo album. I was wondering if you’d heard it yet? I have to agree Mr Wood is an exceptional musician – who’d have thought such a tiny sax could sound so good! Bestest,Mike

  3. Michael says:

    Hi Gandalfe!I’ve just bought myself a copy of Nigel Wood’s Soprillogy, which is the world’s first Soprillo album. I was wondering if you’d heard it yet? I have to agree Mr Wood is an exceptional musician – who’d have thought such a tiny sax could sound so good! Bestest,Mike

  4. Pingback: Subcontrabass Saxophone | The Bis Key Chronicles

Leave a Reply

