Playing the Bass Clarinet

My wife and I have joined a fledgling clarinet choir that has met a couple of times. I’m approaching the end of my first year on clarinet. In my first year of owning a clarinet I’ve only practiced about a month’s worth of time though. So I’ve been playing the bass clarinet.
 
But alas, my Leblanc Paris bass clarinet is still in the shop for a complete overhaul. The tech found a repaired crack that is leaking so he has to rout out the fix and replace it with a better fix. So I was using a rental SML beastie that is very difficult to get to speak. Fortunately most of the chalumeau range, or lower notes for you neophytes, are okay.
 
So I was really enjoying the ensemble work, working on the intonation and the timing. There were four of us there, but we look forward to a fifth joining us next week. Two others have promised to join us but have yet to show up. It will be interesting to see how this group progresses and I get some practice to boot.
 
Play on.
About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Band, Clarinet, Hobbies. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Playing the Bass Clarinet

  1. Jim says:

    Beware. The bass clarinet can be a harsh task mistress.  :o)

Leave a Reply

