We Chose a Petrof Parlor Grand Piano

After a significant period of time and research, we have finally purchased our first grand piano. We played a number of instruments and finally selected a 5′ 8″ parlor grand made by Petrof. We were thinking about a baby grand, but the difference in sound resonance between the two was very impressive. With our 10 foot ceilings, we will appreciate the bigger, read phat, sound.
 
I’ve posted a picture in the list of instruments I admit to owning here on this blog. (We won’t talk about the ocarina.) As we were getting ready to close the deal, I said we’d buy the instrument if Josh, our sales person and musician, would give Suzy and I each a month of lessons; he agreed. It turns out he sez he will be on next year’s TV show called American Idol. We’ll have to get some pictures of him teaching us.
 
Suzy has played on and off for many years, but never seriously. She plays well enough to regale me with some of my favorite pieces. I play stuff that I wrote in high school, so many years ago. So I will have the most to learn. Our house now has a Lowery spinet piano that Suzy has played since elementary grade school, a Thomas organ that mom and dad bought for me at an estate sale for $15 including delivery, and a Hilliery (London) pump organ from 1886. The grand piano will be in great company.
About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Hobbies, Piano. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

