The Sarrusophone and Conn-O-Sax

A friend of mine dropped $30k on a mint Conn-O-Sax and some more on a mint Sarrusophone. I took pictures for the SOTW calendar project. Then my friend let me play the Conn-O-Sax which is an F mezzo instrument. It had a very sweet sound and the keyworks were surprisingly excellent for a sax of this vintage. I wanted to play longer.
 
This friend sells hundreds of instruments on eBay every year. Indeed, he has sold me some of my favorite instruments including a Couf Superba I alto sax. I also purchased a Buffet R-13 Festival Bb soprano clarinet for my wife. She loves it and certainly practices more than I do.
 
I also purchased my grandson Nicky a student model Martin alto saxophone. I love to hear him noodling around on it. He doesn’t really practice it very much but next week he starts taking regular lessons on it from me.
 
 
 
 
About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Saxophone, Vintage. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

