Took Pics of the Couf Twins ;o)

I took some pictures of my all-time favorite saxophones.

After trying a Selmer Mark VI and VII, Keilwerth SX90, Buffet SuperDynAction (SDA), Yamaha 62 Mark II, Yamaha 82Z, Gary Sugal series III, I have found a Couf Superba I tenor that practically matches my Couf alto sax. They are both part of the 81,xxx serial number series. I love them to death and call them the twins.

The Couf twins have been adjusted and had pads replaced. Last week a new alto player showed up with a Silver Selmer Mark VI. She has a degree in sax performance and she blew us away. But part way through the session her sax keyworks started acting up. Since I was on the Couf tenor, I lent her the Couf alto which was in the stand behind me. She loved it–most players do.
Then I came to piece that didn’t have a tenor part which happens in community bands. So I grabbed her Mark VI (we were each using our own mouthpieces) and played with the bari player. The had an excellent sound but the keywords were way out of whack and there were leaks. I guessing it will cost more than $300 to get this horn back in shape.
But she is just out of college and doesn’t have the money to get the horn fixed. She was able to fix the sticking key for the time being. If you have a nice horn, and most of the favs listed are very nice, and your horn is well regulated with decent pads… Well sometimes I just think we don’t appreciate how good we have it.
_________________
Sop, alto, tenor, and bari sax
Community Band Geek
About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Photograph, Saxophone, Vintage. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

