Severe Weather Plan 2012

“Climate is what we expect, weather is what we get.” ~ Mark Twain

imageHere is what I advise my employees about work and handling severe weather. It really could go unstated, but I would feel so guilty if one of my employee got injured trying to get work during a snow storm.

In the case of severe weather, I expect and hope that my team will work from home. Seattle gets that kind of weather about every other year. A good indicator is that, if the weather is that bad, the public transportation systems are not running. But sometimes you only find that out when you are standing at a bus stop and the bus doesn’t show up. So trust your instincts; I know I do.

We have provided you with the tools to do that without skipping a beat. Each of us test our systems from home at least once a month, so we are good there. Do update your calendars, slide your onsite meetings, and ping the team so that we know your status. I have been known to start calling if a team mate I expected to see doesn’t make it to work. So keeping the team notified will save everyone time.

If the power goes off at your house and your cell phone is working, feel free give me a call at 425.2xx.7xxx for a quick update. I trust everyone on the team to do what is right for their family and situation. I have extensive experience in emergency planning for the home, if you’d like to run over the basics in one of our 1:1’s or at the end of a weekly team meeting.

Let me know if you have any questions about this policy.

Having spent 20 years in the military and 20 in the corporate world, I have come to assume very little. I try to be the manager that I would want to work for.

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant jazz saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in FAQ, Guides, Work Related and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

