Happy Independence Day Homies

image“You have to love a nation that celebrates its independence every July 4, not with a parade of guns, tanks, and soldiers who file by the White House in a show of strength and muscle, but with family picnics where kids throw Frisbees, the potato salad gets iffy, and the flies die from happiness.  You may think you have overeaten, but it is patriotism.” ~ Erma Bombeck

The weather in Seattle has changed just in time for my first holiday vacation for this year. After months of rain, cold, and clouds, take a look at this wonderfulness.

image

I have a number of projects lined up for my five day weekend. But first I think I’ll just enjoy the day by watching the morning news, taking a lunch with the parents, and then some practicing on the saxophone and clarinet. No bus ride for me at 6 god-damn AM in the morning, no day full of meetings, and no quick lunch between appointments. Ah, it is a day that I have been looking forward to for a month! Think I can resist checking my work email? Today I can.

gasworks

Picture credit: Seattle Times picture used on my Facebook profile this week.

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant jazz saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Health and wellness, Holiday, Quote, Seattle and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

